Friday, July 1, 2022

More local news for 8 large markets on Roku

Roku Channel recently added eight local news channels to its Live TV lineup.

All eight new channels are NBC-owned stations, and are in eight large markets, mostly in the north and northeast.

NBCUniversal owns 12 local stations, and now eight of those have news feeds on Roku Channel.

  • Chicago (WMAQ)
  • Fort Worth/Dallas (KXAS)
  • Los Angeles (KNBC)
  • Miami/Fort Lauderdale (WTVJ)
  • New Britain/Hartford/New Haven (WVIT)
  • New York City (WNBC)
  • Philadelphia (WCAU)
  • Washington, D.C. (WRC)

These NBC-owned stations are not available:

  • Boston (WBTS)
  • San Diego (KNSD)
  • San Jose/San Francisco/Oakland (KNTV)
  • San Juan (WKAQ)

I noticed that Roku's home market of San Jose was left out. I just found that interesting.

Those eight stations cover a large number of people, since those are some of the largest cities in population in the USA. But, there are 210 TV markets, meaning a number of cities are not covered.

Still, it is a step in the right direction, with more local news available to some areas. At least some people's Streaming Life got a little bit better.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are welcome. Abusive or off-topic comments will be removed.